Oven “Fried” Okra

Is this a recipe? Not really. Then why did I choose it as my first post? Because it is delicious, super simple, and I need the practice. OK?

Geez, I’m kind of testy when I write my first blog post huh?

And I seem to write a lot of questions.

Hmmm….may hap I should get on with telling you about what will be your new favorite snack.

Yes let’s do that.

So as I said, this isn’t exactly a recipe. It is just a method really. And pretty much my most favorite method for veggie cooking — roasting at a high temp until brown, crispy, nutty, and probably devoid of any and all nutrient value therein.  Oh well. It has to be better than potato chips right? (oops, here I go with the questions again…sorry about that)

So wash up a generous handful of fresh okra, then cut off the stems and tips. Now look, I know that this is all really hardcore culinary techniques, but just try to keep up.

Now go ahead and cut it on the bias. It will make the okra feel elegant. And you know the okra needs a little self esteem boost due to it’s little slime problem.

Now isn’t that pretty? This is some confident okra here.

So all you  need do now is drizzle a bit of olive oil on it and seasoning of choice. Today, I chose to keep it simple with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Then get in there and mix it all around with your hands, and spread the okra out in a single layer so that no pieces are touching on a cookie sheet. This is probably the only important part.  Keeping them from touching helps them to get all super crispy and crunchy.

Now pop them into a 400 degree oven for about 15 to 20 minutes. But this time will vary depending on how thick you cut your okra and how well you were able to follow my one rule about not letting the okra touch each other (uh oh..am I getting testy again? Was that another question??). Just keep peeking in there to see if they look right to you.

And when they do look right to you, pull ‘em out and do your best to wait until they aren’t going to burn your mouth before you start eating them up. I, being the very picture of self-control, definitely did not suffer any such injuries…oh wait. Yeah I definitely burned both my finger tips and taste buds. But I couldn’t wait any longer.

So yummy!! Enjoy!

And again, this isn’t really a recipe at all. But I will write it out so I can feel like I really contributed something serious on my first post.

Oven “Fried” Okra

  • Okra
  • Freshly cracked sea salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Olive oil
  1. Wash okra, and cut off tips and stems.
  2. Slice okra into thin strips, and pile onto a cookie sheet.
  3. Drizzle with enough olive oil to coat, and salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste.
  4. Bake @ 400. For 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and crisp.
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

