Saturday Selections: Sundried Tomato Pesto Rolls (Roll Tide Rolls)

Wooo hoooo!!!

Happy first Saturday of the 2011 college football season ya’ll!!

(Can you tell I am a little bit excited?)

If you are one of my regular readers, welcome back! And if you are just stumbling over here from YourWeeklyPicks.com, then welcome (and good luck)!

So The Hubs said that I shouldn’t use this recipe as my first Saturday Selection. He said it might annoy the people who aren’t Bama fans. But I am too excited to share this one. It is sooooo easy and delicious.  But I promise now, that this is the last Alabama themed snack I will make.

…well…until the Iron Bowl….

….but you Aub’s are gonna get one that day too. K?

And the way I see it is,  if you find that you are the type of person who cheers for a team other than the Tide, you have two options.

1. You can just call these Sundried Tomato Pesto Rolls and ignore the fact that I gave them a cutesy name. (But you have to admit it’s pretty clever huh? The red and white layers….roll tide…and it’s a roll…come on…)

or

2. You can still call them Roll Tide Rolls, bite into them with anger and violence, and chew them up with an evil snarl on your face. In a lot of ways, it kind of makes more sense to eat something that has been themed after a team other than your own right? Then you can actually say, “We are gonna eat you guys for breakfast!” and mean it.

I promise you this though, no matter which option you go with (because let’s face it, you know you wanna make these, so not making them isn’t really an option) you are gonna love it! They are so good.

The pesto is slightly crunchy from the almonds, and dangles somewhere in between tangy and slightly sweet. And the crescent rolls…well…come on now…refrigerated crescent rolls are quite possibly the most fabulous convenience food ever made. It’s flaky and buttery and soft and crunchy and holy cow get me some of those now!

And one of the best things about this recipe is that it is all do-ahead. You can make the pesto up to a week before, and the rolls can be made as early as the night before. Just wrap some plastic wrap around the muffin tin and leave it in the fridge until you are ready for some tasty football watchin’ treats.

First off you make your pesto.

Don’t worry. It is totally quick and painless, I promise.

I have made things very easy for you. I understand you have football watching to do.

Simply toss a jar of sundried tomatoes (with the oil), almonds, Parmesan cheese, garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper into your food processor. Let it go for a couple of minutes and voila! You just made sundried tomato pesto.

Feel free to brag to all of your friends.

Now that that is done, it is time to get to those crescent rolls.

Pop them out of the can and roll them out onto a floured surface and pinch together all of the little perforations.

If I hadn’t known that The Dude was saying “pinch pinch pinch” to herself, I would have thought she was saying something else….good thing no one else walked in right then, she might have gotten in trouble.

Next gently roll it with a rolling pin just to make sure you got it all in one solid piece.

Then The Dude got kind of strange. I’m not sure why but I swear the whole time she had the rolling pin she was whispering “Roll tide roll. Roll tide roll.” to herself over and over. It sounded like a little chant.

My kid is weird. She must get that from The Hubs.

Now dot on about 6 tablespoons of the pesto, and spread them out with a knife.

Then, fill in any bald spots you have on the dough. Except for a little border, you want it to be totally covered. I would say I probably put on another tablespoon worth of pesto this way.

Now sprinkle on the mozzarella, and gently press it into the pesto.

And start rolling it up lengthwise.

(P.S. If anybody out there wants to buy me a manicure and then watch my kids while I go get it done, that would be great. Thanks.)

Cut off the ends and then cut it into six even pieces. You can see I scored mine ahead of time because I am not so good with the even piece thing.

Now, you can certainly throw away the little end pieces that you cut off, but I hated to do that (shocking, I know) so I actually threw them into a mini muffin pan and baked them up too. The “Little Roll Tide Rolls” actually ended up being The Dude’s favorite pieces. If you do cook these up, they will bake for 11 minutes.

The regular sized ones bake for 20 minutes. Then they are ready to serve warm out of the oven, or at room temperature. Delicious both ways!

Just promise me you won’t throw them at the TV if your team makes a bad play.

Roll Tide Rolls

makes 12 rolls

8.5 oz jar sundried tomatoes (do not drain)

1/2 cup almonds

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

1/2 tablespoon minced garlic

1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

2 8 oz tubes refrigerated crescent roll dough

1 1/2 cups finely shredded mozzarella (divided)

In a food processor combine tomatoes, almonds, Parmesan, garlic, olive oil, and salt and pepper. Pulse until smooth.

Preheat oven to 350.

Press out crescent roll triangles on a lightly floured surface into one rectangular piece by pinching together the perforations, and rolling with rolling pin.

Spoon 6 tablespoons pesto onto crescent rolls, and spread out with a knife. Fill in any blank spots with more pesto (about 1 tablespoon).

Sprinkle on 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese and gently press into pesto.

Roll up dough lengthwise, pinching any tears in the dough as you go.

Cut off the ends of the roll, cut into six even pieces, and place them in the muffin tin.

Repeat whole process with the second can of crescent rolls.

Bake for 20 minutes.

May be served warm or room temperature.

6 responses »

  1. These look fantastic! I come from a looooong like of Bama fans; I know my family is going to get a kick out of this recipe!

    Reply
    • OMG really?!?! (I love how I say this like Alabama is a small school that no one else has ever heard of outside of the state…) That is so awesome! Roll Tide! :)

      Reply
      • OK, I have to say these look very tasty, even if they are associated with the wrong SEC team. :) Dawg fan from Jawja here! But I must say that my daughter spent 4 yrs. in the UGA Redcoat Band and said she never minded going to Bama cause the fans were so nice to them (unlike some other places that we won’t mention). Maybe if I make these (after I change the name of course) it’ll give us some luck to beat Stevie’s gamecock butt this weekend!!

      • I have to say that GA is always my second favorite SEC team. I am going to be cheering for them to pull one out on South Carolina this weekend too!!! Eeeek. Richt is seriously in the hot seat right now. Hey, and if you do make the rolls this weekend let me know how you liked (or didn’t) them. :)

  2. Pingback: Roll Tide Rolls (aka Homemade Pizza Rolls) | Big Apple, Little Kitchen

  3. Pingback: A Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « A Stool At The Counter

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

