Crunchy Sweet Potato Pie Fries

As you know, I have a three year old. And if you know anything about three year olds you know that they enjoy the constant occasional game of dress up.

Here she is as a sweet little bumble bee.

And here she is last Halloween as a pup.

Hahahahahaha! This picture never ceases to make me laugh. I promise that she actually was into it by the time Trick or Treating rolled around. Actually, for that matter, she still asks to bust out this costume.

Sometimes my food likes to play dress up too.

Guess what I had for lunch today?

Yep.

These little guys.

Holy Lord.

That’s right, friends. A sweet potato fry all dressed up like a pie, complete with a graham cracker crust.

In my ongoing efforts to go against the ubiquitous fall pumpkin recipe grain, I present to you yet another sweet potato recipe.

Let’s see, how can I describe these? They are all creamy and sweet and spicy on the inside. And crunchy and slightly sweet on the outside.

Oh yeah, and they are totally addictive too. Seriously. I could not stop eating these. If my pregnant friend had not come over and finished them, I would have definitely eaten the whole pan.

In a medium bowl stir together oil, apple cider vinegar, and spices.

Cut up a sweet potato into long, thin strips. Try to keep them roughly the same size so that they will bake up evenly.

Place the potatoes in the bowl with the spices and toss to coat.

Crush 4 graham cracker sheets into fine crumbs. You could use the food processor, but to save myself from a few dishes I actually just rolled them with a rolling pin right on my cutting board and then transferred the crumbs to a pie plate.

Dredge the potato sticks in the crumbs and lay on a greased cookie sheet.

Anyone care to guess how I cleaned off my fingers?

Bake for 20 minutes. Then turn the fries over and bake for an additional 5.

Sweet potato. Pie. Fries.

Yep.

Crunchy Sweet Potato Pie Fries

1 small/medium sweet potato

1 tablespoon canola oil

1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

1/2 tablespoon maple syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

dash cayenne (optional)

4 graham cracker sheets

Preheat oven to 425.

Crush graham crackers into fine crumbs. Pour into pie plate and set aside.

Slice sweet potato into even strips.

In a medium bowl combine remaining ingredients except graham crackers.

Toss potato strips into spice mixture to coat.

Dredge potatoes in graham cracker crumbs.

Bake for 20 minutes. Turn fries. Bake for 5 minutes more.

5 responses »

  1. I LOVE this idea! Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Yum! These look like dessert!

    Reply
  3. I am going to try these today! It’s Canadian Thanksgiving and I too have been looking for a way to dress up a sweet potato! Thanks for the idea!

    Reply
  4. These look awesome! More like a treat than anything!=) bellesbazaar-heather.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

