Snickerdoodle Cheesecake Bites

Holy. Crap. Balls.

(Yeah…I said crap and balls on a food blog.)

These might be the most ridiculously delicious things I have ever made.

All I can say is that Snickerdoodles may be my new obsession.

And here is a little trivia fact about me. I had my very first Snickerdoodle about a month ago.

Crazy huh?

Ok here is the deal. Now I would never say that I don’t have a sweet tooth, but it is very specific. And the specificity is that I want chocolate baked goods. If you have chocolatey cookies, brownies, cakes, or pies, I am there. All that other stuff I just ignore while wiping chocolate crumbs from my chin.

So here is what always happened in my mind every time I was offered a Snickerdoodle:

OMG yum! A cookie with Snickers in it?? I can’t wait to try that!

Oh wait what?

It’s just some sort of janky sugar cookie with cinnamon on it?

Ummmm…what kind of sick joke is that to play on somebody?

Ugh! Now I am sooo craving a cookie with Snickers.

And so continued my unfair prejudice towards Snickerdoodles, and the reason I never tried one.

But it’s cool now.

Snickerdoodles and I have kissed and made up.

Oh boy have we.

I mean, can you imagine?

Soft, rich sugar cookie covered in spicy-sweet cinnamon sugar. A slightly tangy, velvety layer of cheesecake. All combined into one perfect, scrumptious bite, after being nearly sprinkled to death again with more cinnamon sugar.

You can almost taste it can’t you?

Oops. Hey. You got a little pool of drool on your keyboard there.

Here. Let me just give you the rundown on this recipe so you can have some for real.

It all begins with a basic sugar cookie dough: flour, sugar, butter, egg, and leavening stuff.

Cream together the sugar and butter. Then add in the egg. And then the flour and baking soda that you stirred together.

When this is combined, plop it into a greased pan. The dough is super soft and and sticky, but don’t worry about it. Just use the back of a spoon to gently work it down and around the pan.

Now I know that you are thinking that this is the perfect job for The Dude and you are figuring you are about to get a picture of her with messy hair and a giant spoon, pushing on the dough.

Well, normally you would be right, except that she was playing sooooo nicely by herself while I was making the crust.ย  I’m not entirely sure what the game was, but I heard a lot ofย  “Yayyyy!!! Super slide!!!” coming from the den.

You know that old saying, “Let a sleeping dog lie?” Well, I have one a like to say: “Let a playing Dude play.”

…and speaking of dogs, did I ever mention that I have one? Yeah. Her name is Tela, and she apparently enjoys the sugar cookie dough because she definitely came sniffing around when I was putting the dough into the pan.

Sorry girl, no dough for you.

But back to the cookie crust. It’s time to pour on the delicious cinnamon sugar!!!

Bake this for 20 minutes.

While it bakes, clean out your mixer and prepare the cheesecake portion.

Beat together the cream cheese and sugar. Then add in the egg, vanilla, and Greek yogurt. Now, I swear that I am not trying to pull anything on you here. Yes, Greek yogurt is a healthier choice than sour cream, but lets be honest, we are making a cookie and topping it with a cheesecake. This is not a time to think about being healthy. I just don’t keep sour cream in the house. But Greek yogurt is a staple and pretty much tastes the same. If you wanna use sour cream, you definitely should.

Of course, just as I was scraping the sides of my bowl down, The Dude (she already has a highly sensitive batter radar) meandered back through the kitchen.

“Mommy can I have a taste?”

“Sorry, baby, this has raw egg in it.”

“Awwwww man!”

And off she ran to play again.

When the cookie comes out of the oven, gently poke it all over with a fork, just to help it not be so puffy, and let it sit for about ten minutes or so, just to let it cool down a little bit before you pour on the cheesecake batter.

Now spread the cheesecake batter over the cookie.

Sprinkle on the remainder of the cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 35 minutes.

Let it sit on the counter to cool for about an hour and a half, and then cover it and transfer to the fridge to chill for at least three hours before serving.

Now, I know that these four and half hours are going to be tough (especially considering the warm cinnamon sugar smell that will have permeated every corner of your house), but you can make it through.

Trust me. I’ve been there.

But one thing you can do to distract yourself, is to head over to YourWeeklyPicks.com to decide which teams you are pickin’ for this weekends’ games. Go sign up! It’s gonna be fun!

And don’t forget to check back here on Saturday. My first Saturday Selection is easy, tasty, and themed after my alma mater.

Intrigued?

Well you are just gonna have to wait.

But it’s cool, ’cause you have Snickerdoodle Cheesecake to eat anyway.

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake Bites

For crust:

1 stick of butter softened

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cinnamon sugar mixture (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium size bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, and salt.

Beat butter and sugar together in mixer on high until well combined.

Stir in egg.

Add in flour mixture until well combined.

Turn out onto a greased 8″ square pan and smooth into pan with a spoon.

Sprinkle on cinnamon sugar mixture.

Bake for 20 minutes.

Poke holes with a fork to reduce puffiness.

For cheesecake:

12 ounces softened cream cheese

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

1 egg

1/2 tablespoon vanilla

1/2 cinnamon sugar mixture (recipe below)

Cream together cream cheese and sugar until smooth and fluffy.

Stir in remaining ingredients until well combined.

Pour onto cooked crust and sprinkle with remaining cinnamon sugar.

Bake for 35 minutes (also at 350).

Let cool on counter for about an hour and half (to room temperature). Then place in the fridge for at least 3 hours.

Cut into 1 inch cubes with a serrated knife, wiping off frequently.

For cinnamon sugar topping:

1 tablespoon cinnamon

3 tablespoons sugar

Stir to combine

Um….you’re droolin’ again….

11 responses »

  1. My mouth is watering…yuuuummmy! Ok, so what size pan are we talking? It looks like an 8″ square pan in your pictures – is that right?

    Katie

    Reply
  2. Ooops! Yeah…totally forgot to mention that. It was an 8′ square pan…gonna go fix that now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. um, my stomach just did a flip flop reading this. I am pissed that I can’t eat them right now!!

    Reply
  4. These look so good!

    Reply
  5. I saw this recipe on Tasty Kitchen and jsut made it on Saturday. These were amazing. I used a 9″ pie pan instead and the cookie dough needed to be cooked a bit longer, but the overall dish was amazing. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Cheesecake Stuffed Red Velvet Cupcakes « A Stool At The Counter

  7. Pingback: A Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « A Stool At The Counter

  8. I found this on the Tasty Kitchen blog and made them last week and they were AMAZING! Pretty much my two favorite desserts melded into one. Can’t go wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

