Saturday Selections: Gooey Mixed Nut Pie Bars

Well, we have big big news here today. Apparently, Tom Rinaldi, dramatic and touching ESPN segment-maker extraordinaire, had a taste of this week’s Saturday Selction and was so blown away that he wanted to do a quick review on them. (which is so cool, because I don’t even know Tom Rinaldi, and as far as I know, he has never even so much as stepped a foot in my kitchen…wow…incredible)

But without further ado, here’s Tom Rinaldi with this delicious and inspirational football snack story.

In one seemingly innocent kitchen in North Central Alabama you may find a group of usually rowdy football fans standing around in complete and stunned silence.  Not from any awe-inspiring plays on the big screen, but from a delicious dessert made by a brilliant home cook and blogger mom.

Amy, from A Stool at the Counter has conjured up a wicked concoction of deliciousness that brings Tebow sized tears of joy to any and all who are lucky enough to have a bite.

These bars have not one but two sticks of butter in them. And enough sugar to fuel you for at least one quarter of a football game.

Some desserts are so decadent, you can only eat one small piece at one sitting.

The filling in between the soft shortbread crust and crunchy nuts is smooth, creamy, and oozes out after every amazing fork full.

So regardless of which team you choose to cheer for this Saturday, take a moment to make this dessert and unite. Not as football fans, but as fans of deliciousness.

Tom Rinaldi, ESPN.

Wow.

Thank you so much, Tom. I am seriously flattered that you felt so strongly about these bars that you wanted to do this little write-up for me.

I don’t know if I really need to say anything else here. I mean, Tom did such a nice job.

These are pretty straight forward to make. So I will spare you from the step by step instruction photos….although I have them…soooo if you are seriously sad that I have left these out this time, I will bust ’em out…

I will tell you this though.

The word “gooey” in the title is no joke. These bars are seriously messy.

You are going to want to eat them on a plate, with a fork, and with a great big ol’ napkin handy.

But my gracious are they good.

Gooey Mixed Nut Pie Bars

For the crust:

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350.

In bowl of mixer, beat together butter and sugar until smooth.

Add in flour salt.

Mix until combined into pea sized pieces.

Turn into well greased 8×8 pan and press.

Bake for 10 minutes.

For filling:

1/2 cup melted butter, cooled

1 cup sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

4 eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup chopped roasted, salted mixed nuts (I used peanuts, cashews, hazelnuts, almonds, and pecans)

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Turn oven down to 325.

Sprinkle nuts on top of crust and set aside.

Mix together butter, sugar, syrup, eggs, and vanilla.

Pour butter and egg mixture gently and evenly over nuts.

Sprinkle on chocolate chips.

Bake for 60 minutes. (center will still be slightly jiggly)

Let cool completely before serving.

P.S. I’m just gonna go on ahead and state the obvious here, that Tom Rinaldi did not in fact guest post for me today, nor do I know Tom Rinaldi, nor has he ever had these pie bars. Although, I will gladly serve them up in the event that he does for some reason come to my home.

One response »

  1. These look insanely good. I haven’t had a good gooey treat in a while. Can I come over?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

