Kielbasa Cheddar Beer Scones

I have a little bone to pick with these scones.

Pretty much ever since I made these, I have had the Tenacious D song “Kielbasa Sausage” stuck in my head.  I’m pretty sure The Hubs has too.

I have made these twice since last Friday (yes, they are that good). And every time something is said about them, either I or The Hubs starts in, “I love ya babeh!” Then we finish it together about as obnoxiously as we can, ” but all I can think about is…KIELBASA SAUSAGE!”

Now, this would be fine I guess, except that now The Little Dude has started singing it too.

If you are unfamiliar with this little ditty, then just keep on thinking it is cute. If you are familiar with it, then you will understand that it is probably not the most appropriate song for a child to sing.

Side bar: The Hubs wanted me to make sure to iterate that she is not singing the really offensive parts…just the first two lines.

Man, we are good parents.

Oh well.

I am going to try to power through noise in my head of Jack Black’s voice to try to tell you how to make these scones.

First, cut up your kielbasa into little cubes and fry them up. Set them on a paper towel to drain and cool down.

Sizzle. Sizzle.

(…”I love ya baby”…oh lord, here we go…)

Now try to ignore The Dude’s cry for sausage samples as you cut some cold butter into your flour mixture.

Then, stir in your cheddar and kielbasa.

For some reason this tickled The Dude. When I told her that I was about to toss the kielbasa in the flour, she laughed and said, “That’s readickaleous!”

Next, pour 1/2 cup of beer into a measuring cup and stir in 1/2 teaspoon of spicy brown mustard.

And depending on what time of day it is when you are making these, or how annoying you are finding the Tenacious D song stuck in your head and/or The Little Dude saying “can I have some more sausage??”, you may choose to drink the rest of the beer now or put a little tin foil over the top of the bottle and save it for a little later in the day.

Stir the beer mixture into the flour until it is just coming together and turn it out onto a floured surface.

Gently knead it for a couple of minutes until it is one solid piece, and then flatten it out into about a 1 inch thick disc.

It is tradition in our house, for The Dude to pat bread dough and tell it “good dough.” She may sing the occasional inappropriate song, but she is a sweet and supportive kid, what can I say.

Now, cut it into six even triangles and place on a a greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes.

These are so full of cheese and butter that they literally melt in your mouth.

Then, you get those salty chunks of sausage and cheese. The beer adds a little sweetness, while making it rich and somehow lighter at the same time(…and what goes better with sausage than beer, anyway, right??) Plus, this teeny, tiny, tangy kick of the mustard.

These scones are readickaleously good.

Kielbasa Cheddar Beer Scones

3/4 cup cubed, browned kielbasa sausage

1 cup all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon sugar

4 tablespoons cold butter

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 teaspoon spicy brown mustard

1/2 cup beer

Preheat oven to 400.

In a medium sized bowl combine flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.

Cut butter into the flour mixture using a pastry cutter or fork. Work the butter into the flour until it resembles corn meal with some pea-sized chunks of butter remaining.

Stir in the cheese until it is evenly coated with flour.

Repeat the process with the sausage.

In a measuring cup, combine mustard and beer. Stir into the rest of the ingredients until the dough is just starting to pull away from the sides of the bowl, but not in a complete clump yet.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface and gently knead a couple of times until it is in one cohesive ball.

Pat down into a 1″ thick disc.

Cut into six triangles, and place on a baking sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes.

“…but all I can think about is KIELBASA SAUSAGE (and beer and cheese scones)!!”

4 responses »

  1. I LOVE kielbasa. And I love biscuits. These look so good! You could just eat one (or five) for dinner!

    Reply
    • Yeah….I definitely had two for dinner the other night. I made some little spinachy (totally a word) mini frittatas (you know….to make the meal more healthy lol), and The Hubs and I were splitting open the scones and stuffing in the frittata like little sandwiches…Holy Lord they were good!

      Reply
  2. Ha! I always seem to get a random Tenacious D song stuck in my head! My husband is going to flip oooooouuuut over these scones. Def gonna make them this weekend!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « A Stool At The Counter

Leave a Reply

