Saturday Selections: Sloppy Joe Cups

I really have to give The Hubs credit for this one.

I was jotting down a recipe idea I had one afternoon when he said, “Why don’t you make sloppy joe cupcakes?” He was totally joking, but that immediately got me thinking.

What if I did make sloppy joe cupcakes?!

Then I remembered this recipe that I had made from Paula’s Best Dishes a while back.

I thought…hmmm why not use this same idea to make Sloppy Joes?

And why not serve them up on game day?

Yums!

We start off with an easy little Sloppy Joe recipe. And because I think that it is one of those dishes that gets better the longer it sits, I decided to bust out the ol’ slow cooker to let it simmer all afternoon.

In a skillet, heat up about a tablespoon of olive oil.

Chop up a bell pepper and half of a medium to large onion. Toss them over into the hot oil. Cook them until the peppers are starting to soften and the onions are just starting to brown a little bit.

Then, add in the leanest ground beef you can find. I used a 96/4. Add in a tablespoon of Worcestershire Sauce and salt and pepper.

While that is browning, learn how to say Worcestershire.

As you practice saying your new favorite word to yourself, you can start throwing some stuff in your slow cooker.

Pour in ketchup, mustard, apple cider vinegar, brown sugar, chili powder, Rotel, and water. Go ahead and turn on your slow cooker to low and stir up your ingredients.

I probably should have been taking pictures of these things as I was going along, but I got a little distracted by what was going on behind me.

The Dude was helping Monkey Mode play with Tupperware (and by helping her play, I of course mean, snatching them out of her hand and then sweetly telling her “No no!”…oh well).

Apparently, my little Monkey has inherited her Mom’s ability to look asleep in every picture that is taken of her.

But seriously. Does that smile not kill you??

ThenThe Dude announced, “Hey Mommmmyyyy, I’m going to the ice cream stoooore!”

Ohhhhh Kayyyy….

Monkey thought she was hiding though. So cute.

See what I mean about the closed eyes?? Poor kid….

But anywho, back to the stove…

By now, the beef should be nice and brown. If you used as lean of a cut as I did, then there really is no draining that needs to happen. I wadded up some paper towels and ran it around the bottom of the pan with my spatula just for good measure, but I don’t really think it even needed that. (I have issues with grease…ask The Hubs). Anyway, add your meat to the slow cooker and stir it all together. Taste it for salt and pepper, put the lid on it, and leave it for at least four hours, stirring it occasionally.

Now on to the “cups” part.

It is just a very basic little savory muffin recipe that I got from The Hubs’ grandmother back before we got married. I love them because they are quick and easy. And they kind of taste like pancakes to me. They just call for the usual stuff: flour, eggs, milk, oil…

Then bake them for 20 minutes.

When they come out of the oven, take a shot glass and press down into each one making a nice little nest for your Sloppy Joes.

Then, when you and your friends are ready, head on back over to that slow cooker and scoop out some of the goodness you have been smelling all afternoon. Garnish it with a sprinkling of chopped dill pickles.

This here is some good football watchin’ grub.

Tangy, sweet, and slightly spicy from the green chilies. Served up in a cute little muffin cup. Fun!

Sloppy Joe Cups

(inspired by BBQ Chicken in Cornbread Cups by Paula Deen)

Makes 9 cups

For the Sloppy Joes:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 medium green bell pepper, chopped

1/2 large onion, chopped

1 lb extra lean ground beef

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons mustard

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 10 oz can diced tomatoes with green chilies

1/2 cup water

In a medium sized skillet, heat up olive oil.

Add in peppers and onions and season with salt and pepper. Cook until soft and slightly brown.

Add in ground beef and Worcestershire sauce. Cook until brown and crumbly. Drain if necessary.

Combine ketchup, mustard, vinegar, sugar, chili powder, tomatoes, and water in slow cooker.

Stir in meat mixture.

Let simmer on low for at least 4 hours. Stirring occasionally.

For the muffin cups:

1 cup all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup milk

Preheat oven to 425.

In a medium sized bowl combine dry ingredients.

In a measuring cup, combine wet.

Add wet to dry and stir to combine (mine seemed a little dry, so I added in about 1 tablespoon more milk).

Fill greased muffin tin cups about 2/3 of the way full. Pour a little water into the remaining three cups.

Bake for 15 minutes.

While the muffins are still warm, firmly press in centers with a shot glass.

Fill centers with Sloppy Joes mixture and top with chopped dill pickles.

2 responses »

  1. I’m loving the sloppy joe & cornbread combo!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « A Stool At The Counter

Leave a Reply

