Saturday Selections: Italian Sausage Balls

“It’s game day! I do what I want!”

If you were to happen into our house in the fall, anywhere from Friday night until Saturday night, you might find I or The Hubs screaming this at each other in an outrageously dramatic fashion.

You know how you have friends from college who are sort of immortalized by the crazy things that they said or did? And how you still find yourself giggling over these things even close to a decade later?

Honestly, I have no idea of the context surrounding this quote, or even for that matter why it is so funny to us. I just know that it happened on a Friday night before an Alabama game. I can only imagine that there were copious amounts of certain beverages traditionally found in fraternity houses involved (…Gatorade?…yeah…must have been Gatorade…). All I know is that at some point late in the evening, one of The Hubs’ fraternity brothers said this to his girlfriend. And The Hubs and I are still to this day saying it to each other.

It pretty much applies in any situation.

Me: “Well, gosh Hubs, aren’t you special that you just got to sleep in until 8:30 this morning?”

Hubs: “It’s game day! I do what I want!”

or

Hubs: “Hey, Amy, are you sure you want to have that third cup of coffee this morning? You know how crazy jittery you get.”

Me: “It’s game day! I do what I want!”

See? It’s fun.

So how does this story tie in to today’s game day fare?

Well, it doesn’t really. Except that I am feeling a little defensive for tampering with something that is already super delicious.

You know those sausage balls that are always found at parties around the holidays? Bisquick, breakfast sausage, and cheese?

Yeah…those things….

Well, I kinda tried to fix something that wasn’t broke.

I decided to give them an Italian twist.

I kept feeling like somebody was going to come in the kitchen and try to tell me to just make the regular ones since they are already great. Then I would have to inform them, “It’s game day! I do what I want!”

And I think you are going to want to do what you want too. There are few things easier to whip up than sausage balls. They can totally be made ahead of time. I have made them as early as the night before I was going to serve them. I just wrapped some plastic wrap around the entire sheet pan and popped it in the fridge until I was ready to go.

And they probably taste just as you imagine. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, cheesy, slightly sweet from the Italian seasonings, and slightly spicy.

Truth be told, The Dude, The Hubs, and I ate almost an entire pan for dinner one night.

You may wanna make a lot.

You start off with your favorite Italian sausage. I really like Jennie-O Hot Italian Turkey Sausage.

Since these come in a casing, I simply run a knife along the side of the sausage link and then peel it off. I did take some photos of this, but raw sausage links simply do not make an appetizing photo subject. And frankly (haha…see what I did there?), I’m not sure I’m really mature enough to go there.

Now on to a little Bisquick.

Yeah, yeah, yeah. I know. But this is how you do traditional sausage balls so I decided to use it. But if you really want to do your own Bisquick type mix you can do this. (P.S. I used this recipe the first time I made these because I was out of Bisquick and it was just fine.)

Measure out some cheeses and dump everything into a mixer to blend them together, or just mix it up with a spoon and your hands.

Then get to forming about walnut sized balls.

Place them on a cookie sheet and bake for 30 minutes.

Serve them up alongside your favorite smooth tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Balls

1.22 lbs Italian sausage removed from casings

1 1/2 cups Bisquick

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 375.

Combine all ingredients.

Form into walnut sized balls and place on a greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Yup….doing what I want. Happy Saturday.

4 responses »

  1. Great Game Day Story! I use the package of Biscuits with Cheese already in the mix. Then I can’t help myself, I have to add more cheese! I made over 50 of them for a social (15 people) at our home and before the burgers came off the grill they were gone. My hubby couldn’t believe he didn’t get even one heavenly game day turkey cheese ball before he noticed they were gone.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Saturday Selections: Bourbon and Coke Whoopie Pies « A Stool At The Counter

  3. Pingback: A Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « A Stool At The Counter

Leave a Reply

