Saturday Selections: Bourbon and Coke Whoopie Pies

To me, there are few things in the world as synonymous with Alabama football as bourbon and Cokes.

Back when The Hubs and I were in college, it was just what you drank on game day. I’m not really sure why this is the drink. Maybe because it looks pretty innocent in a red cup while walking around the Quad. Or maybe because the mini bottles are fairly easy to sneak into the stadium and then mix with a Coke you buy on the inside. (For the record, I really never sneaked any in. I was too chicken.)

And just in case you wanted to know, it was considered appropriate Game Day Bourbon and Coke decorum to mix it up with the handle of your shaker and hurl the drink down towards the field when there was a bad play.

I know. Classy, right?

Even now, like some sorta crazy hippie flashback, the mere whiff of bourbon will have me spontaneously shout out, “Roll Tide!”

It was for this reason that I knew I had to make some sort of Saturday Selection inspired by my game day drink of choice in college.

Folks, if you enjoy this beverage, you will absolutely go ape for these cookies.

Oh my gracious.

Lovely, rich, tender, ultra-chocolatey little cakes sandwiched around a sweet buttercream with a hint of Coke.

Oh and did I mention that they are heavily flavored with bourbon?

When I was baking these up, I scooped a little batter onto my finger to get a quick taste, and got a little drunk.

In my pajamas.

At 8:00 in the morning.

While The Dude was eating a bagel.

OK so I’m just kidding about getting drunk part. But I do feel quite certain that had I eaten more than just a taste I would have been feeling it. (“Rollll Tiiiiide!”)

So yeah, I would advise you not to sample too much of the batter before you bake it lest you get wasted face before noon.

I mean, unless that’s your thing. I dunno, maybe it’s game day and you do what you want…whatever…it’s all good.

This is a pretty straight forward little recipe. So don’t worry, you are going to impress all of your friends without making a big fuss in the kitchen.

I made mini whoopie pies because they are pretty rich. I used a 2 tablespoon scoop for each half of the cake.

Then once they were baked and had cooled completely I piped in a generous helping of the Coke buttercream. I used the number 12 Wilton tip, which was the biggest one I had, but just use whatever will be the easiest for you. I promise I won’t tell anybody if you just use a butterknife.

Then you just plop another cake on top of that (The Dude”s technical term for this is “the lid”). You may certainly go ahead and start eating them now, but I really think that they are better once they have a had a little time to set up in the fridge.

Now go on and make these for your football viewing snack today.

This way you can have your cake and drink it too.

Bourbon and Coke Whoopie Pies

Makes 19

For the Coke buttercream:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

3 tablespoons Coke

3 cups powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

Beat together butter, vanilla, and Coke until well combined.

Gently mix in powdered sugar and salt.

Pour into piping bag and let chill in the refrigerator for at least one hour(but may be made up to one week in advance).

For the cakes:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup bourbon

1/2 cup Coke

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.

In a separate bowl sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Add wet ingredients to the butter mixture.

Gently stir in the dry ingredients a little at a time until well incorporated.

Scoop out 2 tablespoons at a time onto a baking sheet about 1 inch apart.

Bake for 12 minutes.

Let cool completely before piping icing in between two cakes.

Store pies in the refrigerator.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Super Bowl Recipe Roundup « A Stool At The Counter

Leave a Reply

