White Chocolate Candy Corn M&M and Peanut Butter Oat Balls

See? This is exactly why I don’t watch the news.

I am apparently one of those nut jobs who takes every little dramatic story that is reported waaaay to seriously.

About a month ago, I started seeing info pop up on my Twitter feed about these White Chocolate Candy Corn M&Ms.

At first, I thought it was some sort of fake advertisement. I started looking around the internets and couldn’t really find anything about it. Then as time went by, I kept seeing more and more tidbits here and there and basically got the impression that they were a real thing but very hard to find. So I started getting all obsessive and paranoid that I would never have the pleasure of trying out these fun little candies. It got to the point where every time I went to Walmart, I would slowly and methodically walk down the candy aisle, scouring the shelves for that one elusive bag that I just knew had to be hiding somewhere. Does this sound like something a sane person does while shopping with a three year old? Yeah. Didn’t think so.

So you can imagine how excited I was when I finally saw them at my Walmart one afternoon while I was picking up a few random odds and ends. I’m pretty sure I squealed. Then before I knew what I was doing, I grabbed three bags and threw them in my cart. Three bags!

Here is what is incredible about that fact:

1. I never buy candy. N.E.V.E.R. For one thing, The Hubs and I can’t control ourselves when we have it, and truthfully I don’t really even care that much for candy anyway (…I know…if it makes you feel any better, it is really hard for me to admit that).

2. While candy corn is The Hubs’ very very favorite Halloween candy, I can’t stand it. I think it tastes terrible.

So there I was, having a little Happy Parade all up and down Walmart, for something that I would never normally purchase and was pretty sure I wasn’t even going to want to eat.

Oh well.

My craziness is your gain I suppose.

While I didn’t really love the M&Ms by themselves, these little nuggets even brought a candy corn non-believer like me, back for seconds.

I don’t know if you could ask for more really, this stuff is literally three ingredients and requires no baking or cooking. If you can stir and warm things in the microwave, you can make these. And the Halloween colors and slight candy corn flavor make these a really fun non-gross looking (yeah, I’m talking to you, Brain Cupcakes and Monster Toes!) Halloween treat.

First, coarsely chop up a handful of the M&Ms. This is going to give the balls some crunch and give you those fun Halloween colors.

Then you melt your peanut butter in the microwave and set it aside.

I just want you to know, it took every ounce of willpower I had not to turn that bowl up and drink the peanut butter right then and there.

Next up, microwave some M&Ms for 30 seconds.

See how they are starting to crack open? This is a very exciting thing.

Give them a stir (you can be like me and use the same spoon you stirred the peanut butter with) and then microwave them for another 30 seconds.

Now start to crush them with the back of your spoon to release all of the white chocolate goodness.

Then plop that over into your peanut butter and stir, baby, stir!

Now add this mixture over into your oats along with the chopped M&Ms and stir it all together.

And, hey, I don’t care if you start licking the inside of the peanut butter bowl now. You just go right on ahead.

I used a 2 tablespoon scoop to lift out the mixture and then gently molded it into little balls with my hands. This part is admittedly pretty messy, so if you would rather, you could just press it down into a pan and then cut into little bars when you are ready to eat it. I actually considered molding them into a round cake pan and then cutting them into little triangles to sort of mirror the whole candy corn thing. It would be really cute.

Either way, refrigerate them for at least 30 minutes and then they are yours to devour as you please.

Uh-oh. I think I hear the nightly news coming on, I better go turn that off real quick before I start digging a fallout shelter in my back yard or something.

White Chocolate Candy Corn M&M and Peanut Butter Oat Balls

3/4 cup White Chocolate Candy Corn M&Ms, divided

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 cup old fashioned oats

Coarsely chop 1/4 cup M&Ms.

Microwave peanut butter 45 seconds. Stir and set aside.

In a separate bowl, microwave remaining 1/2 cup M&Ms for 30 seconds. Stir and microwave 30 seconds more. Crush M&Ms with the back of a spoon and stir.

Add melted M&Ms to the melted peanut butter and stir to combine.

Add peanut butter mixture and 1/4 cup chopped M&Ms to oats in a large bowl and stir until well combined.

Form into balls and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Oh and P.S. I have been reading that some people are worried that there may be a pumpkin shortage this year, so guess how many cans of pumpkin I have in my pantry right now?

Three. Yep. And you know I don’t even really care about pumpkin…

What is happening to me?

Leave a Reply

