Crunchy Curry Roasted Black Eyed Peas

Happy New Years Eve!

I hope you all have more exciting plans than me which will include putting the girls to bed and then taping my eyelids open for the next five hours waiting for midnight.

What has become of me?

Seriously.

I can barely stay up until 1o:00 these days while watching super intense episodes of Breaking Bad (which by the way, that show is CRAZY!). I don’t know how I think The Hubs and I are going to be able to do this tonight.

These might help though.

I present to you now what very well may be the most addictive thing I have ever concocted. Good lord. They are crunchy and salty and slightly spicy from the curry powder.

You use leftover black eyed peas to make these (which you know I am all over); and they are so easy, you can totally whip them up with a baby on your hip.

Oh and you know that chomping on black eyed peas on New Years Day brings you good luck right?

So make up a big batch of these and go to town. (Not out on the town. Just to town….you got babies to take care of. You aren’t cool enough to go out anymore silly…)

Crunchy Curry Roasted Black Eyed Peas

Serves 2

1/2 cup cooked and drained black eyed peas

1/2 teaspoon curry powder

1/2 teaspoon olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375.

Combine all ingredients together on a sheet pan until the peas are well coated in oil and seasonings.

Spread peas so that they are not touching one another on a single layer.

Bake for 30 minutes.

I asked The Dude if she felt lucky, and she said “Mmmmhmmmphf” through her mouth full of peas. That can’t be a terrible way to start off the new year.

2 responses »

  1. Linda Winterland

    Were these canned or beans you cooked fresh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

