Thai Peanut Granola

I’m not usually a New Years resolution kind of lady. I typically feel like if you are waiting around until a specific date to decide you are going to do something, then you probably aren’t really committed to doing it in the first place.

For example I will say, “I will fold that basket of laundry this afternoon when Monkey Mode is napping.” And then two days later The Hubs and are still nabbing underwear from the basket after we get out of the shower. Had I really been determined to fold and put away those clothes, I probably would have just done it when I pulled them out of the dryer.

So even though I am not usually into the resolution thing, I am into making an effort to make the year as great as it has potential to be. So I made a list of ten things I can do. I just took the basic abstract hopes for my year (i.e. to be a better mom and wife; to be happier; to feel stronger, healthier, and smarter) and put down some clear cut ways that I think will help me get there. Just little things…well most of them are little…you wanna see my list? Of course you do, you little voyeurs!

1. Do something silly every day.

2. Make the girls do something silly every day. Back when we first got married, The Hubs and I were always so goofy.  We laughed a lot. But now that there is so much that has to get done in a day, I feel like we are rarely as silly as we used to be. From the time I get up until the time I go to bed it is feed the girls, brush their teeth, get them dressed, change Monkey’s diaper, help The Dude to the bathroom, clean up the table, sweep, feed the dog, do the laundry (but not fold it or put it up, of course), blah, blah, blah…it is so constant that I forget to take a moment and just be ridiculous and have a good time. There have been days this past year that I don’t think I ever laughed. Not once. That is sad. What good is going through a day if you can’t enjoy it?

3. Do something away from the girls twice a month. When Monkey was a little baby and I was nursing her around the clock, it was hard to get out of the house; but now there is no reason that I can’t get do something away from them. They need to spend time away from me just as much as I need to be away from them.

4. Get dressed up for The Hubs at least once a week. This is one I have already been trying to do. But again, I am so busy running around after the kids that I sometimes literally haven’t even looked in the mirror since I stepped out of the shower in the morning. I figure he would probably appreciate seeing me with a little makeup on and maybe some clothes that aren’t covered in food or worse. Can I get an amen, Hubs?

5. Do something for others once a month and try to get the girls in on it. I want my girls to be philanthropic, magnanimous kinds of people. It would probably be best to start them young.

6. Take a photography class. You know that you guys would appreciate this as much as me. I mean seriously…I obviously have no idea what I am doing.

Yikes.

7. Read the entire Jane Austen catalog. Now this one is kind of embarrassing for me. I am a total bookworm and minored in English in college, but I have never read a single Jane Austen book. I hear they are pretty good.

8. Go to an Avett Brothers concert. When we were in college, going to concerts was what The Hubs and I did. But of course, there is something about having kids that makes it a bit difficult to go to shows. These guys have quickly become one of my favorite bands, and I would love love love to go see them this year if at all possible.

9. Do ten uninterrupted kipping pullups. Come on! What kind of resolution list would this be without some kind of fitness goal? Hubs has become a die hard CrossFit freak over the past year and has somehow managed to make me feel like a slob even though I am arguably in the best shape of my life. So by the end of the year, I want to be able to get out in the back yard (yes we have pullup bars in the back yard…told you he was a freak…) and knock out some pullups with him.

10. Eat more protein daily. After just a few weeks of doing CrossFit type workouts and increasing the weights that I am using, I am craving protein like crazy. It has really made me stop and evaluate what all of us should be eating. So I am trying to make sure that everyone gets at least a little bit of protein with every meal and snack they eat.

So there you have my list. We will see how it goes. Like I said, I feel like everything on here is really just little things that I can do that will make an all around positive impact on my life this year.

So how did I do yesterday? I was silly more than once and made both The Dude and The Hubs laugh at me. I encouraged The Dude to do some crazy good interpretive dancing (to the Avett Brothers no less) which made me and Monkey laugh. I put on makeup before The Hubs got home. I did a super hard upper body workout that could not have hurt my cause for pullups. And I made this granola.

Full of hearty, protein-rich peanut butter, and peanuts. It has tons of flavor just like your favorite Thai peanut sauce. It is garlicky, and spicy, and slightly sweet, and crunchy, and irresistible, and good for you. Just the kind of snack to help you get on with your own list of ways to better yourself this year.

Here’s the recipe.

Thai Peanut Granola

Makes approximately 4 snack portions

1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter, melted

1 1/2 teaspoons sriracha hot chili sauce

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1/2 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon dried cilantro

1/4 teaspoon freshly grated ginger

1 cup old fashioned oats

1/4 cup (heaping) salted, roasted peanuts

1/4 cup packed sweetened, shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium bowl combine peanut butter, sriracha, soy sauce, vinegar, oil, garlic powder, cilantro, and ginger.

Stir in oats, peanuts, and coconut.

Spread onto a cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes. Stirring once halfway through cooking.

Let cool completely and store in an airtight container.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Blueberry White Chocolate and Bean Smoothie « A Stool At The Counter

  2. I love the ingredients in this granola. I will have to try it. I posted a granola on my blog come by and let me know what you think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

