Amazing Cold Fighting Cookies

This week has totally kicked my tail.

I think I mentioned last Saturday that The Dude was sick. Well she is better now, but of course Monkey and I caught her cold. That by itself wouldn’t be so bad except that I was a single parent this week.

The Hubs had to go out of town for work. When he left I had a whole list of fun projects I would do while I had the house to myself after the girls went to bed. I was going to work on recipes, get some random deep cleaning done, try out a project on my new sewing machine, and maybe paint my fingernails while watching Sex and the City. But then the day after he left, Monkey Mode and I woke up with fevers. Swell. So guess how many of those things I got to check off of my to-do list?

That’s right. A big fat zero.

Oh well. I know things could be worse. A lot worse for that matter. But knowing that doesn’t change the fact that it was a crappy week.

So anyway, since everyone is disease fighting around these parts, I naturally started forcing citrus down their throats as often as possible. But then I thought about zinc and what a wonderful immune booster it is.  So I started Googling foods that are high in Zinc. Well gosh darn it if wheat germ isn’t number two on the list — one of my favorite foods to throw into baked goods and oatmeal. In fact, one of my new found favorite cookies has wheat germ as one of the main ingredients.

So I was inspired to bake up a citrusy, wheat germy (how appetizing does that made up word sound??) treat that the girls would get excited about eating to help bolster that immune system a bit.

Here is what I came up with. I think you will like them. Light and healthy. The wheat germ is fun because it doesn’t weigh the cookies down like whole wheat flour does. It actually stays quite tender and gives the cookies a slightly nutty flavor. And the grapefruit (I know this is a shocking ingredient choice since I have never used grapefruit in any of my recipes before…) is understated and gives it a nice sweet freshness. The honey sweetens them up with a pretty floral note. Lovely

As with most of the baked goods that The Dude and I to make together, I used flax seed in the place of an egg. I like that it adds in some healthy fats, but mostly I just like that I don’t have to worry about rogue fingers scooping samples as we go. You can definitely substitute an egg if you would rather. But I will also tell you honestly that while we enjoyed the baked cookies, we also just snacked on the leftover dough straight out of the refrigerator. So I’m just saying that it wouldn’t be the worst thing that you ever did to treat your sick kiddos to Amazing cold Fighting Cookie Dough…just sayin’.

Amazing Cold Fighting Cookies

1/4 cup milled flax seed

1/2 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit juice (1 medium grapefruit)

5 tablespoons butter, softened

1/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup oats

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon soda

1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground ginger to taste

Combine flax seed and grapefruit juice in a small bowl and set aside.

Beat butter, honey, and vanilla until well combined 2-3 minutes.

In a separate bowl combine  wheat germ, flour, oats, salt, soda, and ginger.

Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and stir until just combined.

Pour in the grapefruit mixture.

Place dough in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes to set.

Preheat oven to 350.

Place 2 tablespoon sized mounds onto a lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes. (The cookie will still be slightly soft to the touch. Do not over bake.)

Dough will keep up to a week in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

I asked The Dude to show me what cookies would look like if they were fighting a cold.

I’m not sure if she totally caught my meaning, but it is still cute.

Leave a Reply

