Carrot Cake Blondies

I heart carrot cake.

I sort of discovered my love for it when I made it for the Little Dude’s first birthday. At the time, I wasn’t really obsessed with the moist, spicy goodness topped with rich cream cheese frosting (Mouth = Watering). I really just picked carrot because it felt a little healthier than just a plain white cake.

….yeah…I know…I said it felt healthier OK??

Awwwww! How cute is that?!

ahhhh memories….

So basically, ever since then I have made her carrot cake for her birthday. And I am gonna do the same for the Monkey Mode. And I am gonna keep on doing it until they ask me for some other kind of cake. And even then, I may pretend not to hear them and go ahead and make carrot anyway.

Hey look. I gave birth to these kids! I keep them alive all year! Shouldn’t I be the one who celebrates with cake??

….anywho…

So, I enjoy carrot cake.

I also enjoy a good blondie.

A few weeks ago, I happened to have a little leftover shredded carrot from the Little Dude’s latest birthday in my fridge and I thought, “Hey, you know what would be good? Carrot Cake Blondies!”

Here’s how I did it.

First off, get out your usual baking suspects and put them in a bowl together: flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Then stir them together with some carrot cake spices: cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.

In the bowl of your mixer, blend one stick of melted butter, brown sugar, and vanilla.

Greasy, sweet goodness.

Then, stir in the eggs until they are just incorporated, and cut off your machine.

We wants to be gentle with our eggs. No tough blondies!

Add in the dry ingredients, but again only let the mixer go until it has just stirred everything together.

Then, fold in the carrots.

Now, I didn’t do this, but all of my taste testers agreed that these blondies would be even more exceptional with a generous amount of white chocolate chips all up in here too. So now would be the time to toss in a handful should you choose to do so. And I think you should.

Pour it into a well greased pan. Then bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

When it has fully cooled, cut into squares and drizzle with melted white chocolate and/or caramel sauce.

Yums.

Carrot Cake Blondies

2 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/8 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg

1/2 cup melted butter

2 cups brown sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups shredded carrots

white chocolate chips (optional…sort of…)

Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg.

In a mixer, cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla.

Stir in eggs until just combined.

Stir dry ingredients into wet until just combined.

Fold in carrots and white chocolate chips.

Spread into a well greased 9×13 pan and bake for 30 minutes until toothpick comes out clean.

Cut into squares and serve with drizzled melted white chocolate or caramel sauce.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Crazy for Crust: Carrot Cake Pie {Pi Day Blog Hop}

  2. Pingback: Carrot Cake Pie {Pi Day Blog Hop} - Crazy for Crust | Crazy for Crust

Leave a comment