Tex Mex Fried Rice

Well hello there, friends!

Before I get started telling you about this week’s recipe, I have some very exciting news to share.

My friends over at YourWeeklyPicks.com have asked me to post a recipe every Saturday during the college football season. I will be offering up little appetizers, snacks, and sweet treats that are perfect for game day noshing with friends and tailgating. The first weekend of the season is coming up on September 3rd. I will be posting my first “Saturday Selection” then. I have already been coming up with some pretty fun things that I can’t wait to share with you guys.

If you enjoy the college football thang you should head over to Your Weekly Picks and sign up to play. Each week they choose five big games and you place your bets on the winners and losers. It is a free site, so even if you are just a casual football watcher, you aren’t really losing anything by signing up. I will warn you though, it becomes seriously addicting. And if you can get a big group of your friends and family playing, the bragging rites alone really put a lot at stake. I will definitely be pickin’. Come see if you can beat me!

So on to today’s recipe.

The Hubs and the Little Dude are big time rice eaters.  So naturally, fried rice has been a major supper-staple at our house for some time.

…until The Hubs confessed that he hated the little green peas I put in….

…oh and the carrots.

::sigh::

So I got mad and didn’t cook fried rice for a while. (not really sure what this proved, but whatever…)

Then the other day I was trying to figure out what kind of quick healthy supper I could whip up and fried rice popped in my head, but then I remembered that The Hubs wouldn’t want it the way that The Little Dude and I wanted it, and I started getting all irritated with him all over again. So in an effort to calm myself down, I started to imagine ways to strangle him in the night change up our little fried rice supper to better suit his precious little picky taste buds.

And what can I say, the man loves him some Tex Mex cuisine. I could probably slap black beans and salsa on tofu and put it on a tortilla chip and he would eat it.

…hmmmm…

Wait.

No.

Probably not.

See, Darling Hubs?? I love you after all.

(…please don’t strangle me in the night….)

First, saute up some onions and peppers.

When both are starting to get soft and the onions are starting to become translucent, add in some minced garlic and freshly grated corn.

Now, in this picture you see that I had already added the black beans. I would suggest waiting a bit to add them in though because by the time we were eating, the beans were mush. Still tasty, but mush. Boo.

After a few more sizzling moments, add in the rice and seasonings.

Once these are combined, make a little well in the center of your pan (or wok if you are cooler than me!) and crack in the eggs. Gently scramble these up in the center, trying not to let too much of the rice fall in. I suppose you could do this in another pan if you are feeling particularly fastidious when you make this, but I don’t really want to wash more pans than I have to. Ya feel me?

How freaky is this picture? I swear it was only three eggs, but that broken yolk really makes it look like I used four.

Once the eggs are firmly scrambled, chop it up into little pieces and fold it into your rice along with the avocado, black beans, and chopped cilantro.

Now by the time you grab the plates out of the cabinet, holler for the fam to come to the table, and find The Little Dude’s sippy cup that she has left somewhere in the house, even though you swore to yourself last night (and the night before that) that you were going to pay attention to the last place you saw her with it, the beans and avocado will be heated through, and it will be time for you to sit down and eat. And thank goodness, because this stuff looks and smells fab!

We all started out with forks, but about half way through, The Dude abandoned hers and started shoveling her fried rice out with a tortilla chip.

The Hubs and I followed her lead, and I have to say it was pretty tasty like this. (I am just gonna go ahead and admit that I am guilty of scooping the cold leftover rice onto a tortilla chip the next day) I would definitely recommend serving it up “Dude Style” with a few tortilla chips on the side.

Tex Mex Fried Rice

1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

1/4 cup fresh corn

1 tablespoon minced garlic

3 cups cooked white rice (1 cup dry)

1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1/4 teaspoon oregano

3/4 cup salsa

1 tablespoon lime juice

3 eggs

1/2 cup black beans

1 medium avocado chopped

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Melt butter and oil in a large pan or wok over medium high heat. Add onions and peppers and saute until peppers are soft and onions translucent.

Add in corn and garlic and cook for 3 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add in cooked rice, soy sauce, chili powder, cumin, paprika, oregano, salsa, and lime juice. Stir well to combine.

Make a well in the center of your pan by pushing all of the rice mixture up onto the sides. Crack the three eggs into the center, season with salt and pepper, and scramble. When the eggs are done, chop them into small pieces with your spatula and fold back into the rice.

Gently fold in black beans, avocado, and cilantro. Cook until the beans and avocado are just warmed through. About 3 minutes.

8 responses »

  1. Hi Amy!

    I’m loving your blog. I made the avocado banana bread a few days ago, and it was a hit! We’re going to try the tex-mex fried rice tonight.

    Blessings to you and your family!

    Katie Husby

    Reply
  2. What a fun idea! I love Tex-Mex anything (what can I say…it’s the Texan in me). How was it pairing the southwestern flavors with soy sauce? I’m intrigued by the combo.

    Reply
    • The soy sauce really just adds in a salty, “fried rice-y” kind of background for all of the other stuff. I didn’t think it was distracting. Let me know if you end up trying it! Thanks for reading and commenting!!

      Reply
  3. What a cute little girl you have. 🙂 Also, I like your blog theme!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

