Saturday Selections: Championship Dip Duo

Well folks, this is my last Saturday Selection of the football season.

I know, I know. Wipe your tears away.

I am leaving you with something very exciting to graze on during the big game on Monday night.

A little duo of dips if you please.

One is for the Tide. The other for the Tigers.

The Alabama side is a sweet white chocolate cheesecake dip with a raspberry topping.

It is a rich cream cheese and marshmallow fluff mixture studded with white chocolate chips and slathered with a sweet/tangy raspberry preserve.

The LSU side is a decadent blueberry cream cheese dip topped with apricot preserves.

The sweet blueberries pair so well with the tangy cream cheese. And don’t they make the prettiest purple?

I loved serving them together so you could go back and forth between the two.

It is kind of hard to tell, but I was trying to mound the dips into the shapes of little footballs so that we could make sort of a competition between the two. You know, whichever dip made it to the end zone first would win or something cheesy like that. But I would not recommend serving it that way. The blueberry dip was a bit too soft to stay formed and it kind of started making a mess all over the board. When I make these again on Monday, I think I am going to swirl the preserves into the dips.

And even though I am supposed to be partial to the Alabama side, I couldn’t tell you which one is my favorite if you held tickets to the game itself in front of my face.

…haha I’m just kidding…if you were trying to give me tickets I would totally make up an answer so I could go to the game.

But whatever I said would be a lie because the one I liked best was the one I had in my mouth at the time.

We served these up with graham cracker sticks, Nilla wafers, and pretzels.

Please, please, please promise me that you will try the Alabama dip with a pretzel. It really brings out the white chocolate. Crazy good.

Alabama Cheesecake Dip

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1 cup marshmallow fluff

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

1/3 cup raspberry preserves

1/4 teaspoon water or lemon juice

Combine cream cheese and marshmallow fluff in a medium bowl.

Fold in white chocolate chips.

Keep in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Before serving, top with raspberry preserves thinned out with water or lemon juice.

LSU Blueberry Cheesecake Dip

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1 cup blueberries (frozen is fine, just thaw before blending)

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup apricot preserves

In a food processor combine cream cheese and blueberries until smooth.

In a medium bowl combine blueberry cream cheese with powdered sugar and vanilla.

Keep in refrigerator until ready to serve.

Before serving, top with apricot preserves.

(and P.S. Roll Tide!)

Leave a Reply

