Blueberry Muffin Granola Bar Parfait

Phew….I have posted a great deal of junk as of late.

Let’s detox a bit shall we?

Look, I tried to tell you way back when I first started this blog that I am all over some homemade granola bars.

And I’ll be honest, these are kind of a mistake. When I first made them, I was really going for something else (I’m not giving up on the other ones though…stay tuned!). But I kind of liked the end result anyway. Then, yesterday morning I was totally in the mood for a yogurt parfait and knew that these would be just the thing to take one over the top.

It was nice and filling, not too sweet. A very satisfying way to start the day.

Here are all of your ingredients for the granola bars….

Woa now!

I swear to you, I did not stage this….I was taking pictures and she all of a sudden showed up in my view finder.

Ummm…excuse me, Ms. Dude….

(she’s got pretty eyes huh?)

Anyway, you start off by mixing all of your dry ingredients together in a medium sized bowl.

The only one that takes any effort before hand is the ground almonds. I tossed a handful in my food processor, and pulsed it up until it looked like this.

OK. So this totally cracked me up. I have to share.

The Little Dude walked up when I was taking this picture and said, “Hey Mommy what is that?”

I told her, “Ground almonds.”

She said, “Can I try some?”

Now, I already know that there is something about the texture of nuts that The Dude just cannot deal with. But at our house, trying stuff is super encouraged, so I grabbed my camera and scooped out a little taste for her.

Hahahaha! They were immediately spit onto the floor. Poor kid.

So I gave her some water to help flush the taste out of her mouth. (See? I’m not totally heartless!)

So once you feel that you have sufficiently tortured your Little Dude for one day, you can mix up all of the dry ingredients.

Then stir in some frozen blueberries.

And now fold in your milk and vanilla.

Spread them into a pan and bake them up for about 30 minutes.

Cut them into bars once they come out of the oven.

Once they have cooled a little bit, you can eat them just like this. They are perfectly delicious this way.

But crumbled up with some yogurt and bananas?

Dank-ness.

I crumbled up one granola bar in the bottom of a bowl.

Then topped it with some sliced bananas.

Then a little Greek yogurt sweetened with a bit of honey.

Then, in true parfait fashion, repeated the whole process.

Sprinkle the whole thing with some of those ground almonds, and baby, you just fixed yo’self breakfast (or lunch…hey, I’m not trying to tell you what to do)!

Blueberry Muffin Granola Bar Parfait

Serves 2

2 blueberry muffin granola bars

1/2  banana

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

2 teaspoons honey

1 teaspoon ground almonds (optional)

Combine honey and yogurt.

Crumble one bar into bottom of bowl, top with banana slices, and 1/2 of yogurt. Repeat. Sprinkle with ground almonds if desired.

Blueberry Muffin Granola Bars

Makes 8 bars

1 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup wheat germ

3 tablespoons milled flax seed

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup ground almonds

1/2 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup frozen blueberries

1/2 cup milk (I used coconut)

1 tablespoon vanilla

Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium bowl combine all dry ingredients.

Gently stir in blueberries.

In a measuring cup stir together milk and vanilla.

Fold into the other ingredients until they are wet.

Spread into a greased 8×8 pan.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Immediately cut into bars.

Breakfast is served!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Cherry Almond Butter Breakfast Cake « A Stool At The Counter

Leave a Reply

