Blueberry White Chocolate and Bean Smoothie

This recipe reminds me of that episode of Friends where Rachel cooks the traditional English trifle for Thanksgiving.

Do you remember it? Monica lets her make the dessert all by herself. Then just as she is getting ready to serve it, everyone asks her what is in it. So she starts going through the list of ingredients. It all sounds pretty basic at first with custard, jam, etc. and then she says, “…and beef sauteed with peas and carrots.”

I love that. It makes me laugh every time (Oops. Did I fail to mention that I was a big Friends nerd?)

This smoothie recipe kind of looks that way. We start off with blueberries, white chocolate chips, Greek yogurt, and milk. And then toss in a little spinach and white beans.

Wickawhatwhat?

Now the spinach probably isn’t that much of a shock. Spinach is very easily hidden behind berries in a smoothie (come on, Moms…evil laugh with me!), and people have been doing that for forever. But I agree, the white beans do sound a little nuts. Let me tell you though, it is awesome. It makes the smoothie unbelievably creamy.

I tried to tell you that I wanted to get more protein in us at every meal. And since the girls and I eat a smoothie for lunch at least once a week, I wanted to see if I could go a little bit above and beyond the Greek yogurt.

And if you are worried about the taste, the proof is in the trifle. Check it.

Do these faces look grossed out to you?

Now I realize that the white chocolate seems a little extravagant, but you aren’t really using that much. They add a nice sweet richness to it. Plus, look at what happens when you tell your Dude that there is white chocolate in her smoothie.

Love it.

Blueberry White Chocolate and Bean Smoothie

serves 2

1/4 cup frozen chopped spinach

1 cup frozen blueberries

1/4 cup frozen white chocolate chips

1/4 cup canned white beans, drained and rinsed

6 oz Greek yogurt (I used strawberry but whatever flavor you have on hand should be good)

1 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Place all ingredients in the order listed into the blender. (The spinach always goes in first, just in case The Dude walks in and sees what you are making. It will get hidden first.)

Blend on high for about a minute until no lumps remain.

Serve immediately.

This may have a few wonky ingredients, but it definitely does not taste like feet.

Leave a comment